Connie Beckhardt Award

First presented in 1991, recipients of the Award should exhibit the qualities of a goodwill ambassador for the German Shepherd Dog. They must display exceptional qualities in mentoring and sharing their time and knowledge with others, and lead by example, demonstrating the best of sportsmanship and care of their German Shepherd Dogs. To learn more about this award and it’s past winners, click Read More.

Recipients of the Award must have integrity toward the Breed and the public, and be devoted to the welfare of all German Shepherd Dogs. Included in the definition of integrity are breeders who strive toward producing dogs with sound temperament, working ability, , OVC or SV “a” stamp certified hips and elbows, and good health.

Connie Beckhardt Award Selection Guidelines. 

  1. Member of the GSDCA for at least seven years.
  2. Breeder of German Shepherd Dogs for at least seven years.
  3. Breeder, on their own property, of three AKC German Shepherd Dog Champions
  4. Breeder of one ROM.
  5. Breeder of at least one GSD with a working title.

Nominations can come from members or regional clubs to the Awards Committee.

The following people have been presented this prestigious award:

2023Sheree Moses
2022Mike and Sheila Metz
2021Dawn VanDyken
2020Cyndi Flautt 
2019Dan Dwier
2018Nanci Nellis
2017Kent Boyles
2016Emily St Hilaire
2015Cindy Bartley
2014Nancy Harper Mulvaney
2013Didier Ardoin
2012Joe Bihari
2011Dania Karloff
2010Helen Miller Fisher
2009Dick & Jean Whalen
2008Barbara Williams
2007Gail Sprock
2006Lori Nickeson
2004Karin Wagner
2003Jane Kerner
2002Charlotte Gilbert
2000Frank & Carolyn Martello
1999Doris Estabrook
1998Mary Ellen Kish
1997Joan Ortigara
1996Dorothy Linn
1995Fran & Joan Ford
1995Martha & David Rinke
1994Barbara Woelfel Lopez
1993George & Virginia Collins
1992Helen Sherlock & Pat Parsons
1991Peggy Douglas